In January 2019 TU Dublin came into being and DIT, IT Tallaght, and IT Blanchardstown were dissolved. With the dissolution of the colleges this also means the end of the three existing Students’ Unions; DITSU, ITTD SU and ITB SU.

This means that a new Students’ Union must be created in order to represent all students of the University, whether they study in City Campus (previously DIT campuses), Tallaght or in Blanchardstown. This new Students’ Union will be called TU Dublin SU.